Three more countries declare diplomatic boycott of Beijing Olympics

Canada, Britain and Australia have declared a diplomatic boycott of the Beijing Olympic Games, as reported by public media
Previously, USA declared a diplomatic boycott of the upcoming Beijing Olympics 2022 due to mass human rights violations in China. Beijing was angered by this announcement from Washington.
Following the announcement from USA, New Zealand announced it will not send be sending its delegation to the Beijing Olympics.
Read also: US believes China has committed genocide against Uyghurs
Latvia’s President Egils Levits and other high-ranking officials will not be attending the Beijing Winter Olympic Games 2022 in person, as Latvijas Radio was told by the State President’s Chancellery and Ministry of Foreign Affairs.
According to, Latvia will be represented by the country’s ambassador in China Maija Manika. This way Latvia will not follow the example from USA and will not boycott the Olympics.