Russia declares state of war in territories occupied in Ukraine

On Wednesday, 19 October, Russian President Vladimir Putin declared a state of war in four regions in Ukraine occupied by Russia, as reported by Reuters.
Putin’s decree on state of war applies to self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk people’s republics, as well as Kherson and Zaporozhzhia regions occupied by Russian forces. The state of war comes into force on 20 October.
BNN previously reported that in September Moscow organised «referenda» in territories occupied in Ukraine. After those referenda Kremlin declared them as Russian territories. The international community do not recognise results of those referenda as legitimate.
According to Reuters, in his address to members of the Security Council, Putin expanded the authority of governors of Russian regions and issued the order to form a special council under Prime Minister Mikhail Mishustin to improve Russia’s weak accomplishments in the war.

Putin’s decision, according to Reuters, is response to Ukrainian army’s recent accomplishments on the front. U.S. officials claim this is a sign of desperation from Russia.

Ukrainian president’s advisor Mykhailo Podolyak says the declaration of state of war changes nothing for Ukraine.

“Martial law” implementation on the occupied territories by RF should be considered only as a pseudo-legalization of looting of Ukrainians’ property by another “regrouping”. This does not change anything for Ukraine: we continue the liberation and deoccupation of our territories.
— Михайло Подоляк (@Podolyak_M) October 19, 2022

He wrote on Twitter, Pololyak wrote that declaration of a state of war on occupied territories should be considered as «pseudo-legalization of looting Ukrainians’ property», adding that Ukraine will continue liberating its territories.
Russia previously reported that the situation in Ukraine’s city of Kherson is «tense» and that an evacuation of civilians is underway. There are also claims of occupational powers evacuating from the city as well.