Estonia blocks decision on redistribution of European Parliament seats

Estonia has blocked the decision on the redistribution of seats in the European Parliament (EP), which also provided for the allocation of additional seats for Latvia.
All EU member states except Estonia have agreed on a compromise, providing additional seats to France, Belgium and Poland.
Estonia rejected the compromise because

the country wants explanations as to how Spain, which is the currently presiding country in the EP, had calculated the number of additional seats, as EURACTIV was told by an EU diplomat.

Initially the EP suggested giving two additional seats to Spain in Holland and one each to Austria, Denmark, Finland, Slovakia, Ireland, Slovenia and Latvia in order to thereby ensure the correct application of the principles of gradual proportionality as laid down in the EU treaties.

However, it turned out that it is not simple to achieve necessary unity among member states on this topic.

France and Belgium requested four and two additional seats respectively, which was not included in the initial offer from the EP. Holland and Germany objected to increasing the number of MEPs and instead proposed either distributing existing seats or reducing their numbers to preserve the gradual proportionality principle.
In a compromise option, which was agreed upon by member states in the end included not only the initial proposals but also the request for additional seats for France and Belgium and one additional seat for Poland.
Member states agreed that at least for 2024 it will not be allowed to use inter-state lists for EP elections. The European Parliament is given time until 2027 to prepare a new proposal.
It was planned to resolve this issue on Wednesday, but Estonia blocked the decision, frustrating other member states, said another EU diplomat.
Tallinn promised to study Spain’s explanations and announce its final decision by the 26th of July.
Also read: BNN ANALYSES | Plans to down nine trees in central Vilnius spark public outrage